Define the behavior of your Guides

This article outlines the available options for setting up your Userlane Solution.

Customize

The following options are under the Customize tab in the Portal.

Require your end users to complete Guides in a specified order

Customize > Guides > Enforce Guide Order 

If activated, users must complete all Guides in the predefined order. If deactivated, users can complete Guides in any order they prefer. 

ℹ️ We recommend activating this setting for onboarding Guides. If enable conversion rates are expected to be higher. 

Choose the position of the Assistant within your application

Customize > Assistant > Choose the application corner to position the Avatar 

You can position the Avatar in any corner of your application. Choose the position that fits the underlying application best and doesn't hide anything.

Confirm exit from a Guide

Customize > Guides > Confirm Guide Exit

Determine if your end users should be required to confirm that they want to exit the Guide when they click on the "X" in the top right corner of a step.

ℹ️ An exit confirmation increases the completion rate. 

Display an additional hint

Customize > Guide > Display an additional click hint

If your end users have to interact with your application and remain inactive, we’ll show a large arrow that points at the elements that they need to interact with.

Add the option for end users to go back one step

Customize > Guides > display an additional slide button


An extra button to the left of the main button will be displayed. It can be omitted entirely or used to offer your users more flexibility.

Application Settings

The following options are available on your application's Settings page in the Portal:

Switch on the entire product for your end users

Application dropdown menu > General > Switch Userlane on/off


With this setting, you can deactivate Guides for your end users. You will still be able to use the editor.

Hide Userlane for your end users who signed up prior to this date (and time)

Application dropdown  > Settings > General > Hide Userlane from users who signed up after a specified time

If you specify a date and time here, only end users who signed up for your service after this date and time will be able to see your Guides. This requires some changes in your code snippet. Read this article to learn about the required changes in the snippet.

Hide Userlane on screens smaller than a specific size

Application dropdown > Settings > General > Hide Userlane on screens smaller than a specified size

You can define the minimum width of screens in px. The recommended size for a mobile screen is 769px. On screens smaller than this width Userlane will not be available for your users. When left blank Userlane will be shown on all screen sizes.

Target specific application areas

Application dropdown > Settings > General > Target specific application areas

Specify where Userlane Suite content should be available in your application. Your users will see it in the areas indicated in the segment. Check this article to learn more about Page Segments and this article to explore User Segments.