Use this userlane to manage multiple languages in your Userlane Dashboard.

Add a new language

You can create a new language in the “Customize” - “Languages” section.

  • The language name is displayed in the dashboard for you to identify the language.
  • The language key will be compared to the HTML and Browser languages in order to automatically detect the language. It typically consists of the first two letters of the language name (e.g. English = EN).
  • The Copy-From option allows you to decide which language the texts of your new language should be copied from. This helps you to write in the right translations later. 
  • If you don’t need a language anymore, you can archive it. Archived languages cannot be published for any userlane, but they can always be moved back to the current languages. Deleted Userlanes cannot be restored later.

Import, translate, and export texts in different languages

Follow this userlane to import or export your texts.

To translate your userlanes into different languages you can use our text import/export feature: 

  1. Download all your existing texts or all texts for a specific chapter or userlane only, 
  2. update the texts for each language, and 
  3. upload the new file. 

You can use excel (XLSX) or comma-separated values (CSV) as formats for both export and import all the texts of all your userlanes. Be aware that media elements cannot be created through an upload. 

Important: 

  • Media elements (like images, videos, links or inboxes) that appear as <missing element> in the export cannot be created through an upload. 
  • If you change anything in the file (including the original language) the changes will be applied after you import the file (also to your original language)
  • You can import languages one by one by deleting the other "language" columns in the excel file after the export and before the import. You can identify the respective language based on the language code in the first row (eg. "en"). Please don't delete or change anything in the first 2 columns.

Publish a new language

After creating a language, you can work in this language and publish it.

  • Publish a language for all existing userlanes in the “Customize” - “Languages” section via the step options menu next to the language you want to publish. Make sure that all your userlanes have existing texts in this language, before generally publishing it here.
  • Publish a language for specific chapters or userlanes only in the manage section using the options next to the respective userlane/chapter. This allows you to translate and publish your userlanes in a new language step by step. This userlane shows you how to manage your languages in general and for specific userlanes. Make sure to activate a language for the chapter and for the userlane to show the chapter title and subtitle as well as the userlane texts in this language.

Choose a fallback language option

Let's say you created two languages: English and French. For every French and English speaking end user we will match the corresponding language automatically. To cover every other language, like German or Spanish, you can define a general fallback solution for every chapter or userlane. Follow this Userlane to find the language settings in the userlane options in the manage section. There you can choose between the following default options: 

  • Show default language instead (YourDefaultLanguage). This option will show the userlane in the default language you defined in the “Customize” - “Lanuage” section for all those users that don’t have a matching language.
  • Hide this (chapter/userlane) for those users completely. For users without a matching language, this userlane will not appear in the Assistant.

Good to know

  • Showing userlanes in the mother tongue of users usually increases the completion rate of userlanes.
  • The text of the userlanes will be empty in all the other languages when you create a new userlane in one language. You can use the copy from option when creating a new language to avoid empty texts in other languages.
  • When deleting a language, be aware that once you do that we cannot recover any userlane texts in that language for all your userlanes. If you don’t need it anymore, you can archive it instead. Then you can always restore it later.
  • Language detection priorities: This article explains the order in which Userlane detects the user language.
Did this answer your question?